Night lights, city streets

I love being on the road.  Long drives.  New places and destinations to explore.

It’s always exciting to arrive at the destination but the journey, the time spent getting there is my favorite part.

Some of the most engaging conversations I have had have been while on the road, with both young and old.

While on our way to the Eastern townships in Quebec this weekend we drove through Montreal.

While looking out the window I was inspired to write.

A poem of all things.

The words just came.

This has been happening to me quite frequently lately.  I have been trying to give this poetic voice time by grabbing a pencil and paper and getting to it right away (thankfully I wasn’t the one that was driving or it could have proven hazardous!)

Image

http://takingpictures101.blogspot.ca/ photo by Gerry Lauzon a fantastic photographer from Montreal.  Take a moment to check out his work.

Souvenir#Montreal

Night lights, city streets

a vibe that never sleeps

Vans with curtains, from ages gone by

Black and chrome, driving smooth, as if all alone

Moving,

the steady rythm of the highway bridges, ridges

Strangers passing in the night,

with a flash of light,

swerving left and right,

a traveler’s delight.

19 comments

  1. Ziggy Mang

    Wonderful, I can see the highway. Something about the pace and all different people and cars running down the broken strip of asphalt. Just wonderful

    • writingsofamrs

      Thank you so much. I really enjoyed writing this poem. I felt like I could see the road through the words and I’m happy to hear that you could too!
      Montreal is such a great city!
      Cheers.
      Jennifer

  2. Katie Cross

    Hey! I just stumbled on your lovely blog and wanted to say that I can’t wait to read through your posts. I love blogs about writers, and especially their lives and how they came to be a writer. Looking forward for more!

  3. Steve

    While I liked your post and would have checked ‘Liked’ once I read it; nonetheless, we had a moment of WordPress oddity. When the post first appeared in my ‘Reader, Blogs I Follow’ list, it showed that I had already checked ‘Liked’, as the Likes number was highlighted. And when I opened the post, sure enough, my Gravatar pic was there. 🙂

  4. Kim Bultman

    Jennifer, I woke up in the middle of the night last night and decided it was an opportunity to read through a bunch of your posts. (Gotta love the writing life, eh?) The “feel” of your blog and the thoughts you’ve shared are fresh and evolving. I can see why you’ve had such an enthusiastic response to your writing! It was time well spent — thank you.

    • Jennifer Writings of a Mrs

      Hi Kim,
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on my blog and for taking the time to read back over the older posts (Menace, Antique Set and Night Lights, City Streets are all older posts that I republished these past few days as I’ve been sick with a cold and quite busy)
      I hope to stay fresh and relevant.
      Thank you again for taking the time to read and I hope you continue to read more.
      Cheers,
      Jennifer

      • Kim Bultman

        Jennifer, I’m sorry to hear you haven’t felt well. Wishing you a speedy recovery! I gathered they were re-posts from the dates in the comment sections — actually, I’d never thought to re-post anything (been at it two years), but the idea intrigues me. Thanks! Congratulations, too, on your two month blogging anniversary! Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

