Time to lay it on the table… life-blogging and Bi-Polar Disorder

Such kind words from my fellow blogger Jim.
He opened up to his blogging community this morning about his struggles with Bi Polar disorder. We have been discussing life. I want to commend and support him throughout his journey.
Jims art, his words, poetry and his mind are so inspirational and beautiful.
And Jim, it’s all you buddy.
Jennifer

Some Canadian Stats on Mental health.

It is estimated that 10-20% of Canadian youth are affected by a mental illness or disorder – the single most disabling group of disorders worldwide.

Mental illness indirectly affects all Canadians at some time through a family member, friend or colleague.
20% of Canadians will personally experience a mental illness in their lifetime.
Mental illness affects people of all ages, educational and income levels, and cultures.
Approximately 8% of adults will experience major depression at some time in their lives.
About 1% of Canadians will experience bipolar disorder (or “manic depression”).

To read more please look at http://www.cmha.ca/ The Canadian Mental Health Associations Web site.

The RunningFather Blog

tumblr_mhgd282cdj1qdrhabo1_500

Time to lay it on the table.

Around 2004 I was diagnosed Bi-Polar Disorder and PTSD.I have been off medication since August of last year.

I don’t know if I agree with my professional diagnosis, but a rose, by any other name… know what I mean? Like, call it what you want, but when it’s 3 am and I’m lonely, and I have a black wind blowing in my ears and everything feels meaningless, I don’t give a shit what it’s called.

Late December I got Twitter. By early January I was more aware than I ever wanted to be how many desperate souls there are out there tweeting into the silence.

“Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.”  ― Henry David Thoreau

That depressed me so bad I can’t explain. I mean, all these goddamn people and so much…

View original post 188 more words

6 comments

  1. amberskyef

    Great post. I, too, struggle with bipolar disorder, and it can be just as debilitating as my fibromyalgia! But my fibro triggered my depression in the first place, and then the depression became a monster in itself, triggering my first manic episode.

  2. coffepotcooking

    My burden is a lifetime of ADHD probably probably with a touch of ADS. Writing gives me an excuse to escape by focusing on research and eventually writing what I learned and know. My wife of 43 years suffered a lifetime of depression. We sort of averaged out as normal and fed on each other and few even recognized abnormal behavior as we kept each other in check. What pisses me off the most is not living with mental illness of any kind but the idiots who try to explain to me that these diseases aren’t real and just get over it. In my mind their is little to get over as I have been happy with my life and desperately loved my wife just the way she was. What I’ll never get over is the idiots that tell you their is nothing wrong after they ask you what’s wrong. I have learned to lie “Nothing’s wrong, I’m fine”.

    • Jennifer writingsofamrs

      It sure is a struggle living and dealing with mental illness.
      Thank you for opening up and sharing your story with us. I hope that you continue to stay open and communicative even when it isn’t well received.
      Jennifer

  3. mentalkibble

    Given a recent event in my life I would say that it’s not so easy to fight off the depression that comes along with PTSD. I don’t know if I would agree with PTSD for myself, but I am also increasingly weary of being told that maybe I should talk to a counselor. Because, as much as it is meant well, it’s not like they have a lot of answers, either. And sometimes, frankly, it’s just a matter of healing. I don’t have a huge facial scar, but it’s not exactly unnoticeable. And I have to spend time each day rolling it with my fingers to reduce the thickening of the scar. During that time it’s not really that difficult to drift into thoughts of how I was stabbed and how I now, after doing NOTHING, have to work on paying off associated bills, scar reduction, going to work, and taking care of my kids.
    I’m at that point in the process where…I really don’t know what to say. I just try and keep going and figure out how to have a better moment wherever I can in the day, you know? I’ve been through stress and depression before, but yea, this is a little different given that I nearly bled to death. Other times were intensely emotional, but this is a new spin on it.
    Thanks for liking my post. I sort of feel bad because now I’m writing here and I wouldn’t have done so if you’d not liked it. It’s not the best writing but…I really don’t know what to say? You know? Or even if I should say anything, in general? Sometimes I wonder if maybe just not even paying attention to it wouldn’t just make it be something I hardly thought about and maybe then it would be easier to think about going for a walk along the road where I was attacked. I see people there all the time. None of them are getting stabbed. Apparently, I was the only one that had that happen….But none of them are thinking about who is behind them. None of them seem concerned enough to not wear headphones so they could hear someone coming up behind them….I really wish I knew where to go with this.

Leave a Reply

