Finish Line, a poem

Image

Full story here: http://www.arkansasonline.com/news/2013/apr/15/two-explosions-boston-marathon-finish-line/

PHOTO BY AP PHOTO/CHARLES KRUPA

“Medical workers wheel the injured across the finish line during the 2013 Boston Marathon following an explosion in Boston, Monday, April 15, 2013. Two explosions shattered the euphoria of the Boston Marathon finish line on Monday, sending authorities out on the course to carry off the injured while the stragglers were rerouted away from the smoking site of the blasts.”

 

Finish line

 

The pounding of feet

Beating the street

Blinding sweat

But not so blinding I regret,

We will never forget

Lines crossed

Souls lost

Copyright, 2013

 

My thoughts are with my American friends and family today. 

The world at large feels this loss.

So many countries and so many nations are represented at the Boston Marathon.

World shaking,

Earth Quaking.

Jennifer

24 comments

      • Mocha

        extremely important to listen to…I woke up this morning and it was the first thing I was greeted with…not a nice start to the morning..I like your tribute poem though…so thanks for that

  1. aburris96

    I like this. It shows the emotions behind the tragedy more than the destruction and how it isn’t only effecting us. I think a lot of people are forgetting that we were not the only country represented at the Marathon.

    • writingsofamrs

      Yes, indeed. 92 countries (I believe) were represented at the Marathon this year. Rita Jeptoo of Kenya won the woman’s and Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia won the men’s race. I live in Canada and one of our local high school teachers was at the race as well.

  2. gwalshwhiteside

    I really wanted to write something last night when I heard I was so shocked in a world that is becoming increasingly unshockable! I salute you for your inner voice and bravery! and I pray for all those affected your poem says it all! G xx

Leave a Reply

